The institute is organized into three main departments of Physics, Electronics and Computer Science. Under these departments are several sub departments in specialized areas such as Laser Spectrometry, VLSI Design and AI. There are more than 25 sub departments. Courses are created and run by various departments together. So a particular course may have faculty and research support from multiple departments.

Every department is run pretty independently and have their own sources of funding including research grants, corporate sponsored projects, federal government support as well as internal funding from the institute.